Why So Angry?

I’m not going to go into what I think on the issues or who I think is right or wrong. I may someday, but I really just want all the ugliness to stop. This is about the people who have been calling and emailing members of Congress this week. The people who have been making threats and destroying property over politics. I know the country is split. I know that the issues people are fighting over are emotionally charged for so many. But all this anger has GOT TO STOP.

You know what? I’m angry too! I feel like yelling at many members of Congress too. What I don’t understand is how our public discourse has become so hate-filled and just plain ugly.

Another thing is the members of Congress themselves. There used to be a certain level of decorum and civility there. The halls of Congress used to be treated with respect. Now you have members shouting at the President during a speech and members shouting red-faced at other members on the Senate and House floor. It’s just not right.

Didn’t we used to be civilized or is that all my imagination? Acting out of anger and hatred doesn’t solve anything. In fact, it just perpetuates the negativity.

In the words of Rodney King: “Can’t we all just get along? Please?”

I’m just sayin’

-S

Leave a Reply

