Two Week Wait

OMG…the two week wait is so painful! I’ve been intentionally staying off of TTC message boards because, well, I’m crazy enough on my own thanks! But I was talking to my friend the other day and she happened to ask how the baby making was coming along. When I told her I’d know more next week she said “oh, the dreaded TWW?” I was all “wha???” and she explained it was the TTC community’s abbreviation for the most torturous two weeks of a woman’s life – that between ovulation time and being able to take a pregnancy test. Yes, I know – that was a total “duh!” moment, but I’m a little distracted these days. Thank goodness for those early pregnancy tests because waiting a third week for my period to either come or (fingers crossed) not come would drive me straight up BATTY!

Have you seen that episode of Friends when Phoebe has her brother’s embryos implanted? She comes in directly from the fertility clinic and takes a pregnancy test. And it’s positive! I know – the two week wait doesn’t make good TV, but this happens all the time in TV and movies. A woman will get out of bed the morning after trying, take a pregnancy test and be happily on her way to motherhood! I just wish the wait wasn’t quite so long and stressful. The stress makes me want a drink too, but I’m extra extra cautious these days (I really only allow myself to drink when I’m 100% positive that I’m not pregnant).

So, here I sit towards the end of the TWW trying to decide if I should test tomorrow or Monday. Heck, I’ll probably do both…I may not be made of $, but they are covered by FSA and I happen to have 2 tests in the house, heh.  I’m pretty confident this month. In the TMI department: there was some spotting and mild cramping around the right time for implantation and that’s never happened before. I can’t say my inability to stop eating has anything to do with my gestational status, but I still can’t stop eating. I went to BJ’s Wholesale Club this morning and tried to buy some healthy-ish snacks (nuts and granola) and the biggest bag of frozen strawberries I’ve ever seen (for smoothies!). Now if I could just stop having dinner on top of the smoothie, I’d probably be in better shape.

That’s all I have for now. Will update with results. I’m sure I won’t be able to wait the extra day. I know the answer, but GAH, why did I wait so long to start a family!?!?!?

Peace

-s

Update: That’s a negative…maybe next month. Silver lining: now I can drink on my vacation!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kimberly0904
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 22:37:41

    I hope that everything will be fine on the D;day

    Reply

  2. Jamie
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 19:39:55

    Hello! I am a fellow blogger, although my blog is yoga-themed, who is also TTC. In May I was diagnosed with PCOS and I start clomid in September. How are things going for you? Please feel free to email me so we can chat – this infertility thing is much easier with friends and Thank God for the internet, right? : )

    Reply

Leave a comment