Yearly Recap: 2010

This questionnaire was posted by Linda over at All & Sundry. I’ve been reading her blog for a few years now and she’s always made me laugh and sometimes think a little bit.

I’m going to try (again) to be more attentive to my blog this year and figured this would be a really good jumping off point.

Happy New Year!!!

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?

Took a for real road trip (NJ to TX with stops in Memphis, New Orleans and Washington, DC on the way home). Started (and successfully completed) fertility treatments. This, obviously, leads to – got pregnant!

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t really make resolutions. I like to take things as they come, but if I had to set a few goals for 2011:

  • Get our shit together – at least in terms of fixing up the second bedroom in time for the baby
  • Have a successful and healthy remainder of this pregnancy
  • Have a relatively uneventful birth

That’s about all I can think about right now. I’ve pretty much got a one track mind these days.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, a few friends lost a parent, and that was really sad.

5. What countries did you visit?

I guess Texas isn’t its own country anymore.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

A job for Hubby. He graduated in May and the job market just sucks so much ass! For the security of our family and for his sanity I really hope something happens soon.

And I really really really want to be attentive to my blog. In preparation for this I looked at my page for the first time in MONTHS and saw that my last post was about blogging (again) and it was in JULY! That’s just shameful. I hope to do much much better this year.

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Columbus Day was our egg retrieval and Christmas week was when we hit the 12 week safety zone and officially started telling people (well, those who didn’t already know). I initially thought our due date was July 4th (it’s the 5th) so we’ve been calling it our holiday baby.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I’d have to go with the pregnancy again. It’s pretty huge and otherwise I don’t think I accomplished very much this year.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I really hoped to get a little healthier this past year, but I didn’t get very far. I’ve started eating healthier, but with pre-conception surgery and the IVF process limiting my exercise abilities, I wasn’t really able to accomplish much.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I discovered I had Endometriosis and had surgery for that. I also developed tendonitis in my right hand. It hurts like hell, but I’m being treated and hope it goes away without too much medical intervention.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

With our extremely limited finances neither of us bought much this year. Our big splurge was the road trip. We rented a nice vehicle and stayed in nice hotels in NOLA, Memphis and DC.

12. Where did most of your money go?

Bills, bills, bills. The road trip was all paid with our tax refund. Pretty much every penny earned went to living expenses.

13. What did you get really excited about?

We tried for about a year to get pregnant. It was pretty hard to find out I had to have surgery to confirm and remove Endometriosis, but it gave us hope. And now, after only one round of IVF, we did it! So I’m really excited to become a mom this year!

14. What song will always remind you of 2010?

I bought that Arcade Fire album because Twitter told me to. I liked it for about 3 days and then I just couldn’t listen to one more verse of one more song. So it wasn’t just one song, but the whole album that started making me twitch and had to be deleted.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:
– happier or sadder? Happier
– thinner or fatter? Surprisingly, only a little fatter, but I wish I were thinner before the pregnancy
– richer or poorer? About the same. It’s been four years since Hubby quit his job for school. This is the year we turn it around!

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Nothing really, but if I had to say something it would be that I wish I’d been more physically active.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Eating junk. I’m better, but not as much as I’d like to be

18. How did you spend Christmas?

Running around. Christmas Eve and Christmas morning at my mother’s which doesn’t sound like that much, but it’s about an hour of travel each way and that’s if we take cabs to the train. Had we waited for the bus it would have been 1 ½ to 2 hours each way, two days in a row.

19. What was your favorite TV program?

Modern Family and The Big Bang Theory

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

The only thing I can clearly remember reading is the first few chapters of What to Expect When You’re Expecting.

21. What was your favorite music from this year?

I don’t listen to a lot of new stuff. Other than Arcade Fire (see above) the only thing I remember buying was the Cee-Lo song, F**k You because I LOVED it.

22. What were your favorite films of the year?

I hate going to the movies in NYC (because of the people and potential bed bugs – ewww!) and there are no nearby theaters in our area. I think the only new movie I even saw was Alice in Wonderland which I enjoyed, but it was 3D and IMAX and we were late and had to sit in the front row. So all I really remember is leaving with a sore neck and splitting headache.

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

My birthday is in January and I honestly can’t remember exactly what we did. I think we went out for dinner and I know I took the day off because I always do.

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Having two incomes

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?

“Fashion concept?” do jeans and a decent looking top really count as a “fashion concept?” Especially when paired with Dansko clogs, I’m going to say no.

26. What kept you sane?

My husband…well, he at least tried, even if he didn’t always succeed.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.

To be happy with less. We have enough stuff; not being able to buy more of it is no reason to be miserable.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maggie may
    Feb 12, 2011 @ 15:08:34

    happy with less- something we’ve been doing in spades over here, too

    Reply

  2. Rachael
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 17:15:06

    Congratulations on being pregnant! AKA voluntarily hosting a parasite. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

